By Brad Dunn —
The Oregon Health Authority has published a draft of its proposed rules related to psilocybin users, facilitators, treatment centers and manufacturers as part of Measure 109.
The 65-page draft released Thursday sets parameters for dosages, facilitator interactions, licensing rules, and social equity guidelines that will shape the state’s nascent psilocybin industry. Once finalized, these rules will also guide individuals and businesses looking to work in the field, and who can begin applying for licenses this January.
Here are some highlights…
For psilocybin clients:
- Minimum age 21; no medical reason required
- Psilocybin must be consumed on site at a licensed center and with a licensed facilitator
- Client must have a transportation plan in place before the session begins, and it must be approved by the facilitator.
- Maximum dosage is 50mg of psilocybin, which is equivalent to about 5g of dried mushrooms.
- The minimum length of the session, i.e., the time before the client can be released, depends on the dosage, as follows:
- <5mg = 1 hour
- 5-10mg = 2 hours
- 10-15mg = 3 hours
- 15-25mg = 4 hours
- 25-35mg = 5 hours
- 35-50mg = 6 hours
- Clients must receive a “Clients Bill of Rights” before the session, which outlines 14 rights, including:
- To be treated with dignity and respect while receiving psilocybin services.
- To receive culturally competent care.
- To be free from physical, sexual, psychological, and financial abuse before, during, and after receiving psilocybin services.
- To privacy and confidentiality.
- To request a private space in which to receive psilocybin services.
- To be monitored and supported by a licensed facilitator for the duration of psilocybin services until it is safe for the client to leave the service center
- To have access to a clean, single occupancy restroom for the duration of psilocybin services.
- Clients must also sign an Informed Consent Form, which lists 25 items, including:
- I understand that psilocybin services do not require medical diagnosis or referral and that psilocybin services are not a medical or clinical treatment.
- I understand that some people have found psilocybin administration sessions to be challenging or uncomfortable.
- I understand that facilitators may not use touch while providing psilocybin services without my prior written consent.
- I agree to follow my agreed upon transportation plan. I understand that a facilitator may contact law enforcement if failure to follow my transportation plan presents a risk to my safety or the safety of others.
- If consuming greater than 35 mg of psilocybin during an administration session, I acknowledge that clinical trials have not typically administered doses of greater than 35 mg of psilocybin. The risks and benefits of consuming doses greater than 35 mg of psilocybin are unknown.
For psilocybin facilitators, service centers and manufacturers:
- Along with their licensing application, individuals and businesses must submit a “Social Equity Plan” that describes their diversity, equity, justice and inclusion principles that will guide their internal practices and policies. They must also identify performance measures they will use to evaluate the plan — and for license renewals, documentation that evaluates the success of their plan.
- Residency: Individuals, and at least 50% of a business’s employees, must prove Oregon residency of two or more years.
- Facilitators must achieve a 75% score on an online licensing exam. If they do not pass, they may retake the exam after 48 hours.
- Facilitators may provide supportive touch during sessions with prior written consent. Supportive touch is limited to the facilitator placing their hands on a client’s hand or shoulder.
- Facilitator shall not engage in any romantic relationships, sexual contact, or sexual intimacy with clients, or clients’ partners or immediate family members, for a period of one year following the last psilocybin session with the client.
- Maximum psilocybin possession: Service centers may possess no more than 100g of psilocybin at any given time. For manufacturers, the limit is 200g.
- Licensing fees for facilitators is $2,000. For service centers and manufacturers, it’s $10,000. All fees are reduced by 50% for nonprofits.
- Service center must maintain facilitator-to-client ratios based on dosages given, as follows:
- <5mg = 1 facilitator for every 16 clients
- 5-10mg = 1 facilitator for every 8 clients
- 10-15mg = 1 facilitator for every 6 clients
- 15-20mg = 1 facilitator for every 4 clients
- 20-30mg = 1 facilitator for every 3 clients
- 30-40mg = 1 facilitator for every 2 clients
- 40-50mg = 1 facilitator for every 1 client